top of page
  • Chris ORourke

Dublin Fringe Festival 2019 Award Winners

The last bows have been taken and the lights all gone down. Post-mortems come later, but right now it’s about celebrating all those who made Dublin Fringe Festival 2019. From box office staff to volunteers, to those shining lights of tech and stage, Dublin Fringe Festival 2019 saw an army of people working relentlessly to deliver 77 productions, 545 performances, with 54 world premieres, in 36 venues across Dublin city. As the party begins, one last formality. Recognised by the judging panel of Dublin Fringe Festival 2019 for particular mention, here are the Dublin Fringe Festival 2019 award winners:

Best Production Award

Presented by DUBLIN FRINGE FESTIVAL to the show that has it all - displaying excellence in every area of production, design, performance, concept and execution. This award acknowledges the enormous work and talent that is poured into presenting work at the festival and honours the comprehensive production.

THE EXAMINATION by Brokentalkers

Best Design Award

The award presented for outstanding lighting, sound, scenic, projection, costume or overall design.


Lighting Design: Sarah-Jane Shiels

AV Design: Eoin Kilkenny

Composition & Sound Designer: Alma Kelliher

Set & Prop Design: Andrew Clancy

Best Performers Award

Two of the festival’s brightest stars and best performers will take home this much sought-after accolade from a field of up to 10 nominees. [Formerly given to best male and female, Fringe has broadened this category to suit all gender identification]

Breffni Holohan for COLLAPSIBLE

Willie White for THE EXAMINATION

Best Ensemble Award

Sometimes it’s the entire cast that makes a show. Introduced in 2014, this award recognises the ensemble as the standout – the heartbeat of a project or show.

VILLAINS by Luke Murphy and Attic Projects

Judges’ Choice Award

Instituted in 2014, this award recognises three winners this year whose projects or contributions defy categorisation, but must be recognised for their brilliance.

Zeitgeist: for shows with a finger on the pulse of social change:


MAKING A MARK by Talking Shop Ensemble & Run of the Mill Theatre

WE ARE LIGHTNING! by Joseph O’Farrell (JOF) & Sam Halmarack, performed by The St. James’ Brass and Reed Band, Zombie Dolls, The High Hopes Choir and The Line-Up Choir

Fishamble New Writing Award

Honouring the best play by a new or emerging Irish (or Ireland-based) writer for a new play premiered during DUBLIN FRINGE FESTIVAL. This award includes dramaturgical support as appropriate, for instance, a scholarship place on one of Fishamble's acclaimed playwriting courses and generously supported by Fishamble: The New Play Company.

COLLAPSIBLE by Margaret Perry

First Fortnight Award

Since its inception in 2009, First Fortnight’s mission is to challenge prejudice and end stigma about mental health issues through the creative arts. The winner will perform at the next First Fortnight Festival (January 2020).

ADMIN by Oisín McKenna

Next Stage Wild Card Award

DUBLIN FRINGE awards a bursary to an artist who has been part of the festival, enabling them to participate in the Next Stage – an artist development programme run by Dublin Theatre Festival in partnership with Theatre Forum.


Bewley's Cafe Theatre 'Little Gem' Award

Bewley's Café Theatre is Ireland's foremost presenter of lunchtime theatre and is delighted and proud to continue to sponsor the Bewley's Café Theatre 'Little Gem' Award for the most exciting show presented at this year's DUBLIN FRINGE FESTIVAL under 60 minutes. The selection is made up by the jury for final approval by Bewley's Café Theatre. The prize is a handsome one, where the winning production earns a two week run at Bewley's Café Theatre with €2,000 available to the company for remounting the production.

PATCHWORK by Louis Deslis

Spirit of Wit: Moira Brady Averill Award

A unique award for an artist willing to take risks and whose work defies categorisation with bold and unconventional material. In memory of Moira Brady Averill, who had the power to transform space and thought through alchemic wit – the award comes with a monetary prize and framed illustration by artist Walker Mettling.

Hannah Mamalis – SYMPHONY OF WORMS

Outburst Queer Fringe Award

Outburst Queer Arts Festival is Belfast’s annual explosion for fierce new queer performance, film, theatre, art activism and creative ideas from all over the world. The winner of this award will be invited to bring their work to Belfast as part of the festival’s 2019 programme, this November.

GAA MAAD! by Áine O’Hara & Vickey Curtis

Radical Spirit Award

Co-presented by Dublin Fringe Festival and Project Arts Centre. An Irish artist dedicated to making bold contemporary work and who embodies the spirit of Fringe and Project.


NEW FOR 2019: Wilde Courage Award

Celebrating bold artistic journeys. The winner of this €1,000 cash prize will be the creator of a brave, one-of-a-kind project that evidences a singular artistic vision. Wilde Irish Gin supporting the courage to create.

BLACK JAM by Fried Plantains Collective

London Launchpad Award

Co-presented by London Irish Centre and Dublin Fringe Festival with the support of Culture Ireland, this awrad offers an opportunity for exciting Irish artists to present their work in London.

HOW TO SQAURE A CIRCLE by Aisling Ní Cheallaigh & Ronan Brady


An award from Abbey Theatre and Dublin Fringe Festival

This award rewards an emerging artist of extraordinary promise with five weeks of time, space and money to do some creative thinking. Over these five weeks at a time of their own choosing, the recipient will receive €3000, a desk-space at Fringe HQ and scheduled meetings and support from the creative teams at the Abbey theatre and Dublin Fringe Festival.

Seón Simpson & Gina Donnelly – TWO FINGERS UP

Congratulations to all the winners, and to everyone who took part in Dublin Fringe Festival 2019. Time to party and enjoy some well earned down time. Before the city gets to do it all again with Dublin Theatre Festival 2019.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page